Cultural Difference or a Generational Issue

by caballerocubano3

I was walking to Pret A Manger, or Pret-a-monjay as someone I know pronounces it, she is right… I just checked. I went to the one near Bayswater and I passed a somewhat elderly Indian couple and their modern daughter. The couple was wearing the traditional Indian garb; I believe the female dress is called a sari but do not quote me on this. They were walking back home I imagine because they had groceries. They were speaking their native language or English with a heavy accent. I could not tell because we passed each other pretty quickly. Seeing this family made me wonder why there was a difference. The near elderly couple were probably born in India but there is no way of telling. Anyway, the traditional Indian garments both were wearing was modern dress when they were younger. I really don’t know how the next generation of Indian born people dress but I think it would not be far to reach that it would be a subtle to modern variation of the garments I saw the couple wearing.

On to the daughter. she was wearing a nice looking black and white blouse with pants, modern dress today in London. I wonder why the difference. Could it be a difference in culture? The majority of the dress culture in London is to dress particularly Western: blouse/shirt pants or shorts. It is kind of hard to pinpoint what London cultural dress is with a definition. I infer that it is just a change in environment and that the parents don’t care as much that their daughter dresses the way she does. However, I cannot be certain.